opening mid-May for the 2013 season
Winslow's Tavern is open seasonally
May 16th to mid-October
Lunch is served Fri-Sun from 12pm - 3pm
after Memorial Day lunch is served daily
Dinner is served from 5:30pm
Bar is open late
from June 27th - Labor Day we also feature Oyster Happy Hour daily 3pm - 5pm
front & back
A dining experience at Winslow's begins with a warm greeting from Tracey Barry Hunt, the General Manager who oversees "the front of the house." A former documentary television producer and director, Tracey loves speaking with guests and sharing local knowledge about her favorite spotson the Cape. Winslows' menu and wine list are created by South African born Chef, Phillip Hunt, Tracey's husband. Phillip is always happy to share his passion and vast knowledge of wine with guests interested in recommendations and food pairings. On any given day Tracey and Phillip's two young sons, Hunter and Romanee (our grill and saute cooks for the 2020 season!) may also make an appearance at Winslow's to pick some herbs for Dad or entertain the staff and guests with Mom.
the Barry Family
In 2005 the Barry family embarked on their second restaurant in Wellfleet. After 24 years of successfully running Moby Dick's restaurant, the Barrys seized the opportunity and embraced a new challenge presented by the availability of the iconic Aesop's Tables, in the fall of 2004. Partners David and Patricia Barry, their sons Scott and Todd, along with Todd's wife Mignon recruited the youngest Barry, Tracey, and her South African husband Phillip Hunt. Tracey and Phillip brought their managerial skills from the New York film industry, as well as their own culinary talents and passion for wine. After 14 weeks of intense rebuilding Winslow's Tavern opened to the public on June 11, 2005.
Winslow's Tavern is named in honor of Edward Winslow, one of the Mayflower Pilgrims who visited Wellfleet in December 1620. Owners of Winslow's Tavern, the Barry family, trace their lineage back sixteen generations to Edward Winslow! The historic building was first constructed in 1805 as a home for a sea captain and was once the summer residence of former Massachusetts' Governor Channing Cox. In the 1920's, Governor Cox hosted President Calvin Coolidge here for a weekend. The building has been a restaurant for over 50 years.